Multimedia Musings

by Christopher J. Spurlock

The Beginning of a Crazy Year…

This Monday marked my first day working dot com at KOMU, but more importantly (and frighteningly) it marked my last “first day of school.” As a senior, I have a lot to be afraid of (graduation, job searching, car and/or apartment buying, etc.) but I also have a lot to be excited about.

I’m really looking forward to convergence editing, because it will give me the opportunity to both explore familiar things and discover new ones. KOMU provides a familiar atmosphere for me, as I worked in the web department at a TV station all summer, so I’m excited to dive deeper into that realm. On the other hand, Newsy.com will give me the opportunity to explore something different and new.

On Monday, I got my first taste of that experience at KOMU, and I enjoyed it a lot. I was able to learn the content management system quickly and without much difficulty, and, because Monday afternoons are relatively slow at KOMU, I had the opportunity to sit down with Jen Reeves and discuss an independent project. Based on my conversation with her, I walked away with the impression that I can create any project I want, as long as it is something I will be proud of and the station will benefit from.

I left KOMU and pondered a few ideas, and my conversation with Amy Simons on Thursday added more thoughts to my decision process. As of now, I’m thinking I want to find a way to use my passion for making infographics and work it into a project for KOMU. That way, I’ll have something to put in my portfolio, and I’ll enjoy the project as well. I’m looking forward to discussing this with Jen more when I go to KOMU for my shift on Monday. I’ll be sure to update the blog when I solidify my project idea!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

