Multimedia Musings

by Christopher J. Spurlock

Bill Nye, Where Are You When I Need You?

This week was another “team story” week in reporting class, which means I was placed in a group with two of my fellow convergence journos and assigned a story. The story we pitched and were selected to cover was about a researcher here at Mizzou by the name of David Brune. He’s doing some really interesting research with algae and, with the help of some sea creatures, has figured out how to extract oil from the algae to make biofuel. Cool, no? The only problem was…I hate science.

I’ve always been a very right-brained guy, interested in music and art and words. And when it came to math and science, I wanted nothing to do with it. The Bill Nye videos were about the only things that could get me to understand and be interested in science. So as you can imagine, this was a difficult story for me to work on. Not only were the concepts and terms involved in the story complex, but we had to figure out a way to write our radio script in a way that the average person would understand…because in radio, you only get to hear it once. There’s no rereading like in newspaper, so if you don’t get it the first time, you’re screwed confused.

We worked really hard on the story, and I think the end result is something I can be proud of. It’s definitely an improvement over my first team story, so that’s encouraging. Below is the link to the audio story, as well as some pictures we took.


Click the link to listen! –> algaeasbiofuel.mp3

One response to “Bill Nye, Where Are You When I Need You?

  1. Pingback: Another ‘Crappy’ Story « Multimedia Musings

Leave a Reply

